Saturday, November 28, 2015

And the winner is ...

Henry Burris was a double award
winner at Thursday night's
The CFL recognized excellence from 2015 on Thursday evening, handing out the SHAW CFL Awards at the annual ceremony this year held at the Club Regent Event Centre in Winnipeg.

The event, which signals the start of the real countdown to Grey Cup Sunday featured 11 different presentations and by the evening's end it became a familiar refrain to hear ... representing the Ottawa RedBlacks  is ....

The remarkable second season for the reborn entry for the nation's capital was recognized frequently at the awards podium on Thursday, as RedBlacks accepted five trophies on the night, with Quarterback Henry Burris making two trips to the stage.

Burris, the team leader and most amazing story for 2015 was honoured as the League's Most Outstanding Player, the second time in his career that the has been awarded that trophy, he also received the Tom Pate Memorial Award which is awarded to the player who displays qualities that distinguish him from his peers.

The RedBlacks also were honoured for the work of SirVincent Rogers who claimed the Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman award and Brad Sinopli, who provided the RedBlacks with big play after big play through the season, was recognized as the Most Outstanding Canadian.

Rounding out the RedBlack night was head coach Rick Campbell, and there surely is no more deserving candidate for the Coach of the Year award, with Campbell having led his team from expansion to Grey Cup finalists in but two seasons of play.

Thursday's awards show may provide a bit more motivation for the Edmonton Eskimos, the Esks only received one award on Thursday as receiver Derel Walker claimed the Outstanding Rookie award for 2015.

Other award winners on the night include the Tiger-Cats Brandon Banks, the explosive receiver and kick return specialist for the Cats received the Most Outstanding Special Teams player award, while the Commissioner's Award also honoured a player with ties to the Cats organization, with Berine Custis, one of the trail blazers in the fifties was honoured for his contribution to the game.

The Most Outstanding Defensive player of the year award went to Adam Bighill, a standout on the BC Lions roster this year during a year off challenge for the west coast team.

The Jake Gadaur Veteran's Award was presented to the Montreal Alouettes Offensive Tackle Jeff Perrett, who used his own story of struggles with alcoholism, to raise awareness across Canada on the impact that addiction can have on families and to stress that help is available.

And Bob Iriving, the longtime CFL broadcaster in Winnipeg and walking encyclopedia of Canadian football history, was recognized for his contribution to the game. Irving was awarded the Hugh Campbell Distinguished Leadership Award.

You can learn more about the CFL Awards here.

The re-broadcast of the Thursday presentation can be viewed below:

No comments: